EAP Countries



Description of Territorial Administration and governance:

Official Name:
President: Giorgi Margvelashvili
Prime Minister: Giorgi Kvirikashvili 
Total land area of Georgia: 69,700 km²
Ethnic groups: Georgian 83.8%, Azeri 6.5%, Armenian 5.7%, Russian 1.5%, other 2.5% (2002 census)
Languages: Georgian (official) 71%, Russian 9%, Armenian 7%, Azeri 6%, other 7%, note: Abkhaz is the official language in Abkhazia
Religions: Orthodox Christian (official) 83.9%, Muslim 9.9%, Armenian-Gregorian 3.9%, Catholic 0.8%, other 0.8%, none 0.7% (2002 census)
Population: 4, 490, 500 (as of first of January 2014)
Urbanization: urban population: 54% of total population (2014), rate of urbanization: -0.5% annual rate of change (2013-2014)

Capital: Tbilisi - population 1, 175 million (as of first of January 2014)

System of State Administration of Georgia:

System of State Administration of Georgia:

Georgia is a democratic republic, with the President as the head of state, and Prime Minister as the head of government.

 The President of Georgia is the Head of the State of Georgia.

The President of Georgia ensures the functioning of state bodies within the scope of his/her powers granted by the Constitution. The President of Georgia is the Supreme Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces of Georgia.

The Prime Minister is the head of the Government.   

The Government of Georgia is the supreme body of executive power to implement the internal and foreign policy of the country. The Government is accountable to the Parliament of Georgia. The Prime Minister appoints and removes from office other members of the Government.  

The Parliament of Georgia is the supreme representative body of the country.

 It exercises legislative power, determine the main directions of domestic and foreign policy, exercise control over Government activity within the realm of the Constitution, and perform other duties.  the Parliament of Georgia consists of 77 members elected by a proportional voting system and 73 members elected by a majoritarian voting system. The MPs  are elected for four years terms.  The Parliament of Georgia resides in the city of Kutaisi.

 Georgia is a member of the Council of Europe(1999), while aspiring to join NATO and the European Union. Member of Eastern Partnership Countries.

On 27th of June 2014  the EU and Georgia signed an Association Agreement. Georgia has also been part of the Eastern Partnership since its launch in 2009.

 Georgia is divided into two autonomous republics, nine regions (Georgian: mkhare) and the capital city of Tbilisi. The nine regions are Guria, Imereti, Kakheti, Kvemo Kartli, Mtskheta-Mtianeti, Racha-Lechkhumi and Kvemo Svaneti, Samegrelo-Zemo Svaneti, Samtskhe-Javakheti, and Shida Kartli. 

Abkhazia (main city Sokhumi was granted an autonomy in 1921 by Democratic Republic of Georgia’s constitution.). Since the August War in 2008  Abkhazia and South Ossetia ( main city Ckhinvali)  became occupied regions of Georgia.  De jure, bothe regions are headed by the Chairman of the Supreme Council (in exile) while de facto they are  headed by the Presidents

Adjara (main city Batumi)  Autonomous Republic is defined by Georgian law. The local legislative body is the supreme Council. Chairperson of the Government of the Autonomous Republic of Ajara is appointed by President  by prior consent of the Government of Georgia. In July 2007, the seat of the Georgian Constitutional Court moved from Tbilisi to Batumi. Adjara is subdivided into six administrative units

The first level divisions of Georgia (9 regions, 2 autonomous republics and City of Tbilisi) are divided into 76 municipalities with local governments.

On 5 February 2014 the Parliament of Georgia approved new Local Self-Government Code. to Self-governing status was granted to 7 more cities and today there are 12 Self-governing cities in the country headed by the Mayor the supreme self-government official. The regional administrations are headed by State Trustee -  Governor,  appointed and dismissed by The Government  Under the previous legislation a Sakrebulo (local council)  Chair was  the supreme self-government official, after the reform a directly elected Gamgebeli/Mayor is become the supreme self-government official.

Judicial authority is exercised through constitutional control, justice, and other forms determined by law.