EAP Countries



Description of Territorial Administration and governance:
Official Name: Republic of Azerbaijan
Capital and largest city: Baku
President: Ilham Aliyev
Prime Minister: Artur Rasizade
Total land area of Azerbaijan: 86,600 km²
Ethnic groups: Azeri 90.6%, Dagestani 2.2%, Russian 1.8%, Armenian 1.5%, other 3.9% (1999 census), note: almost all Armenians live in the separatist Nagorno-Karabakh region
Languages: Azerbaijani (Azeri) (official) 90.3%, Lezgi 2.2%, Russian 1.8%, Armenian 1.5%, other 3.3%, unspecified 1% (1999 census)
Religions: Muslim 93.4%, Russian Orthodox 2.5%, Armenian Orthodox 2.3%, other 1.8% (1995 est.), note: religious affiliation is still nominal in Azerbaijan; percentages for actual practicing adherents are much lower
Population: 9,590,159 (July 2013 est.)
Urbanization: urban population: 52% of total population (2010)
Rate of urbanization: 1.4% annual rate of change (2010-15 est.)
Azerbaijan is the largest country in the Caucasus region located at the crossroads of Western Asia and Eastern Europe. It is bounded by the Caspian Sea to the east, Russia to the north, Georgia to the northwest, Armenia to the west and Iran to the south, while having a short borderline with Turkey to the northwest.

Azerbaijan is divided into 10 economic regions subdivided into 59 districts and 11 cities. Moreover, Azerbaijan includes the Autonomous Republic of Nakhchivan (muxtar respublika), which itself contains 7 districts and1 city and covers 5,500 km². The rayons are further divided into municipalities.
The ten economic regions of Azerbaijan are:
1. Absheron
2. Ganja-Qazakh
3. Shaki-Zaqatala
4. Lankaran
5. Quba-Khachmaz
6. Aran
7. Yukhari-Karabakh
8. Kalbajar-Lachin
9. Daglig-Shirvan

The President of Azerbaijan appoints the governors of these units, while the government of Nakhchivan is elected and approved by the parliament of Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic.