EAP Countries


Description of Territorial Administration and governance:

Official Name:
Republic of Armenia
Capital and largest city: Yerevan
President: Serzh Sargsyan
Prime Minister: Karen Karapetyan
Total land area of Armenia: 29,743 km²
Ethnic groups:
Armenian 97.9%, Yezidi (Kurd) 1.3%, Russian 0.5%, other 0.3% (2001 census).
Languages: Armenian (official) 97.7%, Yezidi 1%, Russian 0.9%, other 0.4% (2001 census).
Religions: Armenian Apostolic 94.7%, other Christian 4%, Yezidi (monotheist with elements of nature worship) 1.3%.
Population: 2,977 (July 2013 est.)
Urbanization: urban population: 64% of total population (2010).
Rate of urbanization: -0.11% annual rate of change (2010-15 est.)
Armenia has 11 administrative territorial unites or “marzes”: Aragatsotn, Ararat, Armavir, Gegharquniq, Lori, Kotayq, Shirak, Syunik, Vayots-Dzor, Tavush and Yerevan. Public administration in the marzes is governed by RA President’s decree “On public administration in the marzes of the Republic of Armenia” and other legal acts.
Marzes are divided into urban and rural communities. Despite the relatively small country size and population there are 1000 settlements in Armenia governed by 930 local governments. The total number of urban communities defined by the Law on Administrative-Territorial Division is 59, including 47 cities and 12 communities (districts) in Yerevan. The remaining 871 are rural.